About Our Town

The History of Farmerville

In the year 1790, the first grant of land in the territory of Union Parish was made by the Spanish government to a trapper, John Honeycutt. He settled in the land that was full of wildlife and ideal for his trade. After he had received his land grant, he began to eke out his living here with only Indians as his neighbors.

Then, one day a few years later, after he first entered this section, he met a roving band of Indians who told him of another family that had settled in this territory. Putting his coonskin cap on his head, and with his flint-lock in the crook of his arm, Honeycutt set out to follow the Indians' directions. He found an old settler by the name of Feazel with a "house full of girls." The story goes that he asked the father for the hand of one.

From Alabama, Georgia, and the Carolinas came the adventurers. Soon there were home sites along the Bayous D'Arbonne, Corny and DeLoutre, in the "Ouachita Settlements" section, as the Union Parish Territory was designated. Many coming from Alabama up the Ouachita River from Fort Miro to claim their future homes disembarked at the spot which became known as Alabama Landing, a name that still survives. A well-known location for fishing, boating and picnicking, it is about twenty-five miles east of Farmerville.

Not until 1839 was Union Parish created out of the northern part of Ouachita Parish, and in that year a town was laid out for the parish seat. There was some argument as to the name of the town. Matthew Wood, a first settler and president of the first police jury, donated the land, the highest spot in the parish, and many wanted to a call it Woodville in his honor. Wood, however, did not wish this, and the town was named Farmerville after a family of that name, probably Miles Farmer, local planter and elder in the Baptist Church, who had helped organize the Concord Baptist Association in 1832. He was the father of J.N. Farmer, police juror and W.W. Farmer, the latter of whom was a surveyor, justice of peace, lawyer, and later lieutenant governor of the state. A monument was erected by the Louisiana Legislature in 1855, and it currenty stands at his grave in the Farmerville Cemetery.

On May 16, 1839, the first step toward the establishment of a parish government was made. The first police jury, composed of J.N. Farmer, Jeptha Colvin, Phillip Feazel, Matthew Wood, Needham Bryan, Bridges Howard, and D.P.A. Cook, met at the home of William Wilkerson, which was located one mile west of Farmerville at the mouth of Bayou Corney. This point became known as Forks Ferry.

The first leaders of the parish had the difficult task of setting up the parish government and selecting the town site at this first meeting. The police jury named Matthew Wood as president, Thomas Van Hook as clerk, W.C. Carr as sheriff, and Claiborne M. Smith as recorder. Thomas Van Hook was the first district court clerk, and John Taylor was appointed the first judge in the parish. They made a resolution at this first meeting which said, in effect, that the parish seat must be located within five miles of the geographical center of the parish. As has been stated, Matthew Wood donated the land for the town and the courthouse.

In the second meeting, held on May 17, 1839, the policy jury passed the following ordinance: "Be it Ordained by the Police Jury of Union Parish, Louisiana, that the seat of justice in and for Union Parish, Louisiana, shall be called by the name Farmerville."

Although Farmerville was organized and plotted in 1839, it wasn't until the general assembly of 1842 that the town was granted a charter and incorporated. It operated under this charter with several amendments until the charter of 1870, under which the town operates today.

Important Notice

Fight Fraud, Waste and Abuse!

Contact the Louisiana Legislative Auditor (LLA) Hotline if you suspect the misappropriation (theft), fraud, waste or abuse of public funds by anyone.

Information provided to the LLA Hotline may result in an investigation, audit or other review.

When providing information to the LLA Hotline, please include sufficient detail (describing who, what, where, when, why and how) to allow us to fully evaluate your information. Although we will consider anonymous information, providing us with your name and telephone number will allow us to contact you with any additional questions that we have. Your name and telephone number, as well as the status of complaints, are confidential.


Toll-free: 1-844-50 FRAUD (503-7283)

Fax: 1-844-40 FRAUD (403-7283)

Online: ReportFraud.La

Click here to download the flyer

U.S. Mail: LLA Hotline, P. O. Box 94397, Baton Rouge, LA 70804


D'Arbonne Woods Charter School

1104 Sterlington Hwy

(318) 368-8051


Union Christian Academy

110 Hill St

(318) 368-8890


Union Parish School System

1206 Marion Hwy

(318) 368-9715



Union Parish Library

202 West Jackson St

(318) 368-9288



Blooming Grove Baptist Church

702 Martin Luther King Dr

(318) 368-9583

Crestview Baptist Church

1108 Sterlington Hwy

(318) 368-3300

Eagle Point United Pentecostal

P. O. Box 801

(318) 368-0809


Farmerville Church of Christ

306 East Franklin St

(318) 368-8666


Farmerville Church of God in Christ

901 Cedar St

(318) 368-2717

Farmerville United Methodist Church

301 Anthony St

(318) 368-3840

First Assembly of God

920 South Main St

(318) 368-8466


First Baptist Church

400 North Main St

(318) 368-3848


Franklin Street Baptist Church

401 West Franklin St

(318) 368-9041

Gentle Hands Ministry

1286 Wheeler Dr

(318) 368-1022


Messiah's Temple

501 Smith St

(318) 368-2626

Our Lady of Perpetual Help

600 East Water St

(318) 368-9239

Triumph the Church of Kingdom

1000 Martin Luther King Dr

(318) 368-9838

Physical Address:

1024 Sterlington Hwy
Farmerville, LA 71241

Mailing Address:

Town of Farmerville
P.O. Box 427
Farmerville, LA 71241-0427

Contact Us:

(318)368-7142 (fax)

Seal of Farmerville

All rights reserved Copyright 2020 Town of Farmerville | Fight Fraud
Designed by NMY